Board of Trustees

Johnston Community College operates under the control of a 13-member local Board of Trustees. Each member serves a four-year term with four members selected by the Johnston County Board of Education, four members chosen by the Johnston County Board of Commissioners, and four members appointed by the governor of North Carolina. The president of the Student Government Association serves a one-year term as an ex-officio (non-voting) member.

The Board of Trustees sets all local policy and the board appoints the College president. In addition, the Board of Trustees has authority to disperse funds as delegated by the State Board of Community Colleges. The board meets every other month in public and executive sessions. For more information about the meetings, see the 2018 meeting dates or view the Trustee meeting calendar.

Current Members

Chair: Lyn T. Austin  |  Vice Chair: Hank Daniels

Lyn T. Austin, Chair
Clayton | Appointed by the County Commission 2016; term ends 2020
ltaustin@johnstoncc.edu


W.E. Bud Andrews
Smithfield | Appointed by the Governor 2014; term ends 2018
wbandrews@johnstoncc.edu


Jonathon Breeden
Clayton | Appointed by the Board of Education 2015; term ends 2019
jdbreeden@johnstoncc.edu


Hank Daniels
Smithfield | Appointed by the County Commission 2015; term ends 2019
hwdaniels@johnstoncc.edu


Mary Daughtry
Pine Level | Appointed by the Board of Education 2016; term ends 2020
mcdaughtry@johnstoncc.edu


Suefan Johnson
Smithfield | Appointed by the Governor 2017; term ends 2021
swjohnson@johnstoncc.edu


Polly Lamberth
Smithfield | Appointed by the Board of Education 2016; term ends 2020
palamberth@johnstoncc.edu


Allen Mims, Jr.
Clayton | Appointed by the Governor 2014; term ends 2018
a_mims@johnstoncc.edu


Douglas V. Oglesby
Benson | Appointed by the Board of Education 2017; term ends 2021
dvoglesby@johnstoncc.edu


Lynn Harloe Ragsdale
Smithfield | Appointed by the County Commission 2017; term ends 2021
lhragsdale@johnstoncc.edu


Benton Sawrey
Clayton | Appointed by the Governor 2015; term ends 2019
b_sawrey@johnstoncc.edu


Joshua Thompson
Clayton | Appointed by the Governor 2016; term ends 2020
j_thompson1@johnstoncc.edu


Student Representative

Heidi Fontes
Appointed by Student Government Association 2018; term ends 2018

2018 Meeting Dates

Meetings are generally held in the Pines Board Room (Room C1001) in the Wilson Building. To request meeting
minutes or agenda, please contact Sandy Millard at sbmillard@johnstoncc.edu or (919) 209-2011.The regularly
scheduled meetings of the Board of Trustees and Committee meetings are held at 5:30 p.m. on the following dates in 2018:

Board of Trustees Meetings

Thursday, January 22
Thursday, March 8
Thursday, May 3
Thursday, July 5 or July 12
Thursday, September 13
Thursday, November 1

Committee Meetings

Monday, February 19
Monday, April 16
Monday, June 18
Monday, August 20
Monday, October 15

View the Trustee meeting calendar