Board of Trustees

Johnston Community College operates under the control of a 13-member local Board of Trustees. Each member serves a four-year term with four members selected by the Johnston County Board of Education, four members chosen by the Johnston County Board of Commissioners, and four members appointed by the governor of North Carolina. The president of the Student Government Association serves a one-year term as an ex-officio (non-voting) member.

The Board of Trustees sets all local policy and the board appoints the College president. In addition, the Board of Trustees has authority to disperse funds as delegated by the State Board of Community Colleges. The board meets every other month in public and executive sessions. For more information about the meetings, see the 2021 meeting dates or view the Trustee meeting calendar.

Current Members

Chair:
Lyn T. Austin  | 
Vice Chair:
Hank Daniels
Lyn T. Austin
Lyn T. Austin, Chair


Clayton | Appointed by the County Commission 2016;
term ends 2020
ltaustin@johnstoncc.edu


Hank Daniels
Hank Daniels


Smithfield | Appointed by the County Commission 2015;
term ends 2023
hwdaniels@johnstoncc.edu


Mary Daughtry
Mary Daughtry


Pine Level | Appointed by the Board of Education 2016;
term ends 2020
mcdaughtry@johnstoncc.edu


Suefan Johnson
Suefan Johnson


Smithfield | Appointed by the Governor 2017;
term ends 2021
swjohnson@johnstoncc.edu


Douglas Oglesby
Douglas V. Oglesby


Benson | Appointed by the Board of Education 2017;
term ends 2021
dvoglesby@johnstoncc.edu


Lynn Ragsdale
Lynn Harloe Ragsdale


Smithfield | Appointed by the County Commission 2017;
term ends 2021
lhragsdale@johnstoncc.edu


Benton Sawrey
Benton Sawrey


Clayton | Appointed by the Board of Education 2019;
term ends 2023
b_sawrey@johnstoncc.edu


Joshua Thompson
Joshua Thompson


Clayton | Appointed by the Governor 2016;
term ends 2020
j_thompson1@johnstoncc.edu


 
Robert (Bob) Bryant


Clayton | Appointed by the Governor 2018;
term ends 2022
rwbryantjr@johnstoncc.edu


  Antoan Whidbee





 Dr. Oliver Johnson - Photo Dr. Oliver Johnson


Smithfield | Appointed by the Governor 2019;
term ends 2023
ocjohnson@johnstoncc.edu


 R.S. (Butch) Lawter - Photo R.S. (Butch) Lawter, Jr.


Clayton | Appointed by the County Commission 2019;
term ends 2023
butch.lawter@johnstoncc.edu

Student Representative


  Lillian Anderson

SGA President and Student Trustee


2021 Meeting Dates

Meetings are generally held in the Pines Board Room (Room C1001) in the Wilson Building. To request meeting
minutes or agenda, please contact Sandy Millard at sbmillard@johnstoncc.edu or (919) 209-2011.The regularly
scheduled meetings of the Board of Trustees and Committee meetings are held at 5:30 p.m. on the following dates in 2021:

Board of Trustees Meetings

Thursday, January 14
Thursday, March 4
Thursday, May 6
Thursday, July 1
Thursday, September 2
Thursday, November 4

Committee Meetings

Monday, February 15
Monday, April 19
Monday, June 21
Monday, August 16
Monday, October 18

View the Trustee meeting calendar