Board of Trustees

Johnston Community College operates under the control of a 13-member local Board of Trustees. Each member serves a four-year term with four members selected by the Johnston County Board of Education, four members chosen by the Johnston County Board of Commissioners, and four members appointed by the governor of North Carolina. The president of the Student Government Association serves a one-year term as an ex-officio (non-voting) member.

The Board of Trustees sets all local policy and the board appoints the College president. In addition, the Board of Trustees has authority to disperse funds as delegated by the State Board of Community Colleges. The board meets every other month in public and executive sessions. For more information about the meetings, see the 2022 meeting dates , view the Trustee meeting calendar or view the BOT Meeting Minutes.

Current Members

Chair:
Lyn T. Austin  | 
Vice Chair:
Hank Daniels
Lyn T. Austin
Lyn T. Austin, Chair


Clayton | Appointed by the County Commission 2020;
term ends 2024


Hank Daniels
Hank Daniels


Smithfield | Appointed by the County Commission 2015;
term ends 2023
hwdaniels@johnstoncc.edu


Mary Daughtry
Mary Daughtry


Pine Level | Appointed by the Board of Education 2020;
term ends 2024
mcdaughtry@johnstoncc.edu


Suefan Johnson
Suefan Johnson


Smithfield | Appointed by the Governor 2021;
term ends 2025
swjohnson@johnstoncc.edu


Tommy Williams Tommy Williams


Zebulon | Appointed by the Board of Education 2021;
term ends 2025
tommy.williams@unchealth.unc.edu


Lynn Ragsdale
Lynn Harloe Ragsdale


Smithfield | Appointed by the County Commission 2021;
term ends 2025
lhragsdale@johnstoncc.edu


Benton Sawrey
Benton Sawrey


Clayton | Appointed by the Board of Education 2019;
term ends 2023
b_sawrey@johnstoncc.edu


Joshua Thompson
Joshua Thompson


Clayton | Appointed by the Governor 2020;
term ends 2024
j_thompson1@johnstoncc.edu


 
Robert (Bob) Bryant


Clayton | Appointed by the Governor 2018;
term ends 2022
rwbryantjr@johnstoncc.edu


Antoan Whidbee Antoan Whidbee


Smithfield | Appointed by Board of Education 2020;
term ends 2024
amwhidbee@gmail.com


 Dr. Oliver Johnson - Photo Dr. Oliver Johnson


Smithfield | Appointed by the Governor 2019;
term ends 2023
ocjohnson@johnstoncc.edu


 R.S. (Butch) Lawter - Photo R.S. (Butch) Lawter, Jr.


Clayton | Appointed by the County Commission 2019;
term ends 2023
butch.lawter@johnstoncc.edu

Student Representative


Cody Peedin Cody Peedin

SGA President and Student Trustee


2022 Meeting Dates

The JCC Board of Trustees have a Special Call Meeting:

Thursday, June 30, 2022
5:00 pm

Pines Boardroom - Wilson Building 

The purpose of the meeting is to begin the process of searching for the next President.

Meetings are generally held in the Pines Board Room or Room C1111 in the Wilson Building. To request meeting minutes or agenda, please contact Dr. Kismet Matthews at kkmatthews@johnstoncc.edu or (919) 209-2011.The regularly scheduled meetings of the Board of Trustees and Committee meetings are held at 5:30 p.m. on the following dates in 2022:

Board of Trustees Meetings

Thursday, January 13 ( via Zoom)
Thursday, March 3
Thursday, May 5
Thursday, July 7
Thursday, September 1
Thursday, November 10

Committee Meetings

Thursday, February 3
Thursday, April 7
Friday, June 3
Thursday, August 4
Thursday, October 13

View the Trustee meeting calendar

View the BOT Meeting Minutes