Johnston Community College’s Radiography Program Celebrates 50 Years of Excellence

Published: December 5, 2023

JCC’s Radiography Program reflects on its golden anniversary.

JCC’s Associate Degree in Radiography program is in its 50th year. The program began in 1973 when the college itself was only five years old and was named Johnston Technical Institute.

The radiography program received preliminary accreditation that first year, with full accreditation in 1977, from the Joint Review Committee on the Education of Radiologic Technologists. The program has maintained JRCERT accreditation ever since.

The program’s founding director was Sheila Smith, who remained at the helm of the department until her retirement in 2006. Smith recently returned for the program’s 50th Anniversary celebration and was joined by alumni, faculty, staff, and friends of the program.

“It takes vision and innovation in leadership and hiring educators who strive to help the student reach their full potential as worthy healthcare professionals and contributing members of society,” says Smith.

The program has only had two directors in the last five decades. Ann Jackson, who graduated from the program in 1994, is the current director.

“I am very thankful for the program that first gave me my profession and also showed me my passion for education,” Jackson says.

JCC’s radiography program has maintained a 97% pass rate on the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists National Certification exam and 100% job placement rate for students over the last five years.

Clinical Instructor Natalie Smith says, “I am proud to say that I graduated from the JCC Radiography program 38 years ago. I am equally as proud that I have been a clinical instructor for the same program 28 years now. I have the best of both worlds as an instructor and also having patient contact daily.”

The program has graduated more than 800 professional, competent radiographers since its inception.

JCC’s Advanced Technologies Department also designed a 50th commemorative plaque for Radiography.

radiography department

Cutline: (L to R) Nancy Renfrow, Natalie Smith, Barbara Carter, Phil Blackman, Amy Horne, Wendy Weaver, Ann Jackson, Jerri Sinclair, Melodie Batten

Did you enjoy this story?

Share this article with your friends!